You are currently viewing Introducing the Two Peas in a Primary Pod, Denise and Rachel

Introducing the Two Peas in a Primary Pod, Denise and Rachel

If you are a teacher in preschool through second grade, you’ve found your people! We are Denise and Rachel, and we’re excited to share about ourselves hoping that you’ll find a few things we have in common. With our site, we hope to share what’s worked well for us and what might work well for you.

Denise and rachel, a Mother-Daughter Duo

Meet Rachel:

My name is Rachel, and I have been a preschool teacher for the past eleven years in the Chicago Public Schools. My students are 4 and 5 years old.

Meet Denise:

My name is Denise and I have taught in the public school system in San Antonio, Texas and Chicago, Illinois for the past 26 years

denise and rachel’s teaching style

Denise:

I am hands on and work small groups into our day whenever possible. I differentiate learning for all of my students as the need arises. I love project based and thematic units. My students are the center of my decisions and everything works from there. Each year is a new beginning; flexibility and a sense of humor is key.

Rachel:

I am very organized, but also very flexible. Each day in PreK brings something different! Students might be working on their monthly Self Portraits, making a pizza as a team a la “The Little Red Hen,” creating their own science experiments, or problem-solving social issues that come up among friends. I love working with my kids every day and seeing things from their perspective. I am very hands-on, and spend the majority of my day crouching over at preschooler’s eye level, or working on the floor with them and their projects.

denise and rachel’s background and education

Denise:

I have a Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education, certified K-12. I obtained my Masters in Instructional Leadership. I have also taken classes in ELL and Special Education classes and continue to take classes to increase my knowledge and stay in touch.

Rachel:

I have a Bachelor of Science in Early Childhood Education (Type 04) and am certified to teach Birth-3rd grade. In Spring 2022, I graduated from DePaul University with a Masters in the Social and Cultural Foundations in Education! I also have an endorsement in ELL, and have taken masters-level coursework in Special Education.

Final Thoughts

While we teach in different schools, different grades, and in different parts of Chicago, we love collaborating and sharing ideas with each other. We often find ways of making alterations to each other’s suggestions, so that they work for the students we have in front of us.

We are very excited about this new adventure and look forward to sharing our thoughts, ideas, and materials from the classroom with you!

We’ll be back to share with you more soon.

Leave a Reply